Choosing a Men's Vitality Supplement: A Dose-First Checklist
Check six things before you buy: every amount printed, extract ratios read with care, each dose compared with research, hidden-drug red flags, realistic claims and a working refund desk. Applied to Horsewood, the label passes on printed amounts and refunds but fails on dose: tongkat ali is 10 mg, while trials used 100-600 mg.
Why a dose-first checklist works for men's vitality supplements
The dose decides whether a supplement has any chance of matching research. A good ingredient at a tiny amount is still a tiny amount.
Makers, not the FDA, answer for a supplement's safety before it goes on sale (FDA, 2026). So the checking falls to you, and the label is your main tool.
The six checks below take about ten minutes with the bottle in your hand. They work on any brand, and they turn a busy label into a clear pass or fail.
The men's vitality supplement checklist: 6 checks
Run these six checks before you pay. Each one takes a minute or two.
Confirm every amount is printed
Find the Supplement Facts panel and look for milligrams next to each ingredient. A blend that gives only one total weight hides the numbers you need.
Read extract ratios with care
A ratio such as 100:1 and a “dry powder equivalent” are conversions. Trials weigh the extract itself, often standardized to a named compound.
Compare each dose with research
Look up the daily dose used in human trials for each ingredient. Note how far the label amount sits above or below it.
Scan for hidden-drug red flags
Walk away from promises of drug-like results, missing labels, missing seller details or the words “FDA approved.”
Check that the claims are realistic
A supplement may say it supports a body function. It may not claim to treat or cure a disease, and it must carry the FDA disclaimer.
Test the refund desk
Confirm the number of days, the phone number, the returns address, who pays return postage and how long the money takes.
Check 1: are the amounts printed? Horsewood shows every one
A usable label lists each ingredient with its own amount in milligrams. A proprietary blend lists only a total, so you cannot tell how much of any one herb is inside.
Horsewood passes this check. Its panel lists seven actives with separate amounts, 118 mg in total per two-capsule serving.

Printed amounts are the start, not the finish. They let you run the next two checks, which is where Horsewood runs into trouble.
Check 2: extract ratios vs standardized milligrams
An extract ratio tells you how much raw plant went in, not what came out. A standardized extract tells you how much of a marker compound is in each dose.
Most trials report the milligrams of extract a person swallowed. A “dry powder equivalent” is a different number and cannot be set beside them.
| Label line | What you swallow | What the label leaves out |
|---|---|---|
| Tongkat ali, 10 mg of 100:1 extract | 10 mg of extract | Any standardized marker; the “about 1,000 mg” is a conversion |
| Horny goat weed, 8 mg of 10:1 extract | 8 mg of extract | Icariin content |
| Boron amino acid chelate, 20 mg | 20 mg of the compound | Elemental boron inside it |
On this check, Horsewood falls short. None of its extracts names a standardized compound, and two key amounts are missing. The tongkat ali dose post walks through the math.
Check 3: how the Horsewood doses compare with research
Most Horsewood amounts sit far below the doses used in human trials. The meter below plots each one against the research range on a log scale.
Tongkat ali trials used 100 to 600 mg a day (Chinnappan et al., 2021), and Horsewood has 10 mg. Saw palmetto studies used 320 mg, and even that showed no benefit for urinary symptoms (Barry et al., 2011).
Horsewood's 10 mg is one-tenth of the lowest dose that worked. Sources: (Chinnappan et al., 2021) (Leisegang et al., 2022)
Even the standard dose showed no benefit for urinary symptoms. Sources: (Barry et al., 2011)
Leaf is studied for allergies, not men's health. Sources: (LiverTox, 2023)
The label gives 20 mg of chelate, not the elemental boron inside it. Sources: (Naghii et al., 2011) (NIH ODS, 2022)
Icariin content of the 8 mg extract is not stated. Sources: (Brown et al., 2019)
No human evidence supports either for men's health. Sources: (MSKCC, 2022) (Drugs.com, 2026)
Horsewood amount (when published) dose range used in human studies (log scale)
Two ingredients have no research dose for men at all. The body cannot turn wild yam's diosgenin into hormones (MSKCC, 2022), and sarsaparilla lacks clinical data (Drugs.com, 2026).
Check 4: hidden-drug red flags in men's supplements
The FDA has found hidden prescription drugs in many sexual-enhancement products (FDA, 2026). In one “natural” product, the hidden drugs could drop blood pressure in men who take nitrates (FDA, 2026).
You cannot see a hidden drug in a capsule. You can spot the marketing that often comes with one.
- Promises of results within minutes or hours.
- Claims that a product works like a prescription medicine.
- No Supplement Facts panel, or no amounts on it.
- No seller address, phone number or refund terms.
- The words “FDA approved” on a supplement.
These are category warnings, not a finding about Horsewood. Its label names a distributor address in Largo, Florida, and every amount. No independent lab report has been published, though, so no outside test backs the label.
Check 5: realistic claims, and where Horsewood stands
A supplement may make structure/function claims, which say it supports a body function. The FDA does not approve these in advance, and they must carry the FDA disclaimer (FDA, 2024).
The three Horsewood label claims fit that pattern. They cover blood flow and male response, libido and desire, and mental clarity, each with the asterisk.
The sales page is another matter. It also uses performance slogans that are not structure/function claims. This site does not repeat them, and they cost Horsewood points on this check.
Check 6: the refund desk behind Horsewood
A refund promise only helps if you can use it. Look for a clear window, a phone number, a returns address and plain timing.
Horsewood passes. You get 60 days from purchase, unless the sales page prints a longer window, an order desk at +1 (302) 200-3480 and a returns address at 4 Times Square, Floor 22, New York, NY 10036.
- Include your full name, email, and order ID with the bottles.
- Buyer pays return shipping. Use a tracked service.
- Refund timing: 3-5 business days after the returns desk credits you, then 5-10 days for your card.
The full terms are on the refund policy page.
The honest Horsewood score: passes on openness, fails on dose
Horsewood is open about what is inside but light on how much. It passes two checks, gets partial credit on two, and fails two.
The table sets out each result so you can judge the trade-off yourself.
| Check | What passes | Horsewood result | Verdict |
|---|---|---|---|
| Amounts printed | Milligrams for every ingredient | All 7 printed, 118 mg total | Pass |
| Extract clarity | Standardized extract or named compound | Ratios only; icariin and elemental boron not stated | Fail |
| Dose vs research | Near doses used in human trials | Tongkat ali 10 mg vs 100-600 mg; saw palmetto 20 mg vs 320 mg; nettle leaf 20 mg vs 300-600 mg | Fail |
| Hidden-drug red flags | Full label, seller details, outside testing | Full label and address; no lab report published | Partial |
| Realistic claims | Structure/function wording with FDA disclaimer | Label claims fit; sales-page slogans do not | Partial |
| Refund desk | Clear window, phone and address | 60 days, phone, returns address; buyer pays return postage | Pass |
If openness matters most to you, Horsewood earns credit. If you want research-level doses, the label shows it does not reach them. The Horsewood ingredients page has the full breakdown.
Before you start any men's vitality supplement
Two steps come before any bottle. See a doctor about new symptoms, and check your medicine list.
Erection problems can be an early sign of heart disease, so a checkup matters more than a capsule. The men’s vitality guide covers the habits that help most.
Choosing a men's supplement: common questions
What should I check first on a men's supplement?
Check that every ingredient has an amount in milligrams. Without numbers, you cannot compare a product with research or with another brand.
Is a 100:1 extract stronger than a standardized extract?
Not always. A ratio only says how much raw plant went in. A standardized extract tells you how much of a marker compound is inside.
Why does the dose matter so much?
Trials found effects at set doses. Tongkat ali studies, for example, used 100 to 600 mg a day (Leisegang et al., 2022). A tenth of that is not a proven smaller version of the same result.
Does an FDA-registered facility mean the product is approved?
No. Facility registration describes the factory, and the FDA does not approve supplements (FDA, 2026).
How did Horsewood score on this checklist?
Horsewood passes on printed amounts and the refund desk. It fails on extract clarity and dose, and it gets a partial on claims because of its sales-page slogans.
Should I ask a doctor before buying?
Yes, most of all if you take any medicine. A doctor can also check whether a health problem sits behind the symptoms.
